Databases

Fairfield residents may access these resources from home by using their Fairfield Public Library barcode number. For additional Web resources, please visit our Staff Recommended Links page

Need reference help? You can call us at 256-3160 or use our email reference service.

Alphabetical Listing

 

BIOGRAPHIES

Connect to the iCONN Databases for Biography Reference Center & Biography Reference Bank.

BUSINESS

Business Insights: Essentials – Research and analyze companies and industries around the world using industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

JobNowGet expert assistance for every step of the job search process with this online chat resource. Help includes review of resumes and practice interviewing. Your Fairfield Public Library barcode number is required for access.

Learning Express Library – Three job and career course series are included in our subscription: Business Writing Skills Success, Job Search & Success Skills, and Resume & Interviewing Skills. Enter your own information in these interactive diagnostic tools to help with every step of the career process.
Provides interactive online practice tests and tutorial courses for academic and licensing tests. Tests include Advanced Placement, Basic Skills Success (grammar, math, comprehension), Business Writing, Civil Service (including Postal Workers), College Preparation (including SAT), Cosmetology, EMS, ESL (Spanish), Firefighter, GED, Job & Career, Military, Nurse Aide, Skills Improvement, Technical and Career College, and US Citizenship.
Note: users must sign in with user name and password. If you will also be using this database from home, please use your FPL library barcode number (no spaces, no letters) as your user name.

Morningstar Investment Research Center – This includes Morningstar analysts’ independent opinion on 1,700 stocks, 2,200 mutual funds, and 300 exchange rated funds. Morningstar Investment Research Center also offers accurate, up-to-date data on 35,000 stocks and funds, along with industry and market data. The database lets users build and test portfolio ideas online, and provides financial education through its Investing Classroom.

Reference USA – From American Business Information – a directory of over 12,000,000 businesses in the U.S. that can be sorted by geography, size, and type of business. Access to this database may be hampered by your computer’s browser, firewall, or security software. If you are having problems, please see the Reference USA Frequently Asked Questions.

Value Line Research Center – Provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertibles, and offers a family of no-load mutual funds.

CONSUMER INFORMATION

Consumer Reports – Get product ratings from world-famous test labs and sort them based on your priorities. Find out which products are best buys and worst performers.

DOWNLOADABLE RESOURCES

Freegal Music Service – A downloadable music collection of popular music in MP3, DRM-free format. Download and keep up to 3 songs a week.

Overdrive – Best-selling and classic audiobooks, eBooks, eAudiobooks, and video available 24/7.

Zinio – Full digital copies of your favorite magazines. View them on your computer or mobile devices.

FAIRFIELD PUBLIC LIBRARY

Fairfield Public Library Online Catalog – Access to our collection of 275,000 books, magazines, newspapers, videos, compact discs, local documents and CD-ROM’s in the main library, the Fairfield Woods branch, and the Pequot Library (Southport).

Calendar of Events/Online Registration – Visit our calendar of library scheduled events and save time by using the calendar to register online for the programs of your choice.

Ask A Question (E-Reference) – Use our online form to ask a reference question.

ReQuest/Online (statewide library catalog) – The holdings of other Connecticut libraries.

GENEALOGY

Ancestry® Library Edition – Discover your unique family history! This resource includes billions of records from around the world, including from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration and passport records, periodicals and books, photos, and more. Not available outside of the library.

Heritage Quest – Includes access to US Federal Census Records from 1790-1930 as well as information on people and places described in over 25,000 family and local histories. Enter your fourteen digit Fairfield Public Library barcode number (no spaces, no letters) at the prompt. An iCONN Database.

GENERAL REFERENCE

A to Z – the U.S.A. – Information for U.S. States and Territories. Includes U.S. country data, state, county and city information, maps, flags, photos and facts about the 50 states and 5 U.S. territories.

A to Z – World Culture – Information for countries around the world. Get full data for each country, including culture, demographics, climate, holidays, maps, flags, travel information and much more.

A to Z – World Travel – Information for cities around the world. Get full data for each city, including culture, demographics, climate, holidays, maps, flags, travel information and much more. Visit this before you travel!

Academic Search Premier.  An iCONN Database.

Credo Reference – Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. This data base is a giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files.

E-Reference Books and Non-Fiction for High School, Middle School, and Elementary School. An iCONN Database.

Facts on File – Issues & Controversies - Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Facts on File – World News Digest - Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news (1940-present) from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. .

Learning Express Library – Provides interactive online practice tests and tutorial courses for academic and licensing tests. Tests include Advanced Placement, Basic Skills Success(grammar, math, comprehension), Business Writing, Civil Service (including Postal Workers), College Preparation (including SAT), Cosmetology, EMS, ESL(Spanish), Firefighter, GED, Job & Career, Military, Nurse Aide, Skills Improvement, Technical and Career College, and US Citizenship.
Note: users must sign in with user name and password. If you will also be using this database from home, please use your FPL library barcode number (no spaces, no letters) as your user name.

Professional Development Collection, Teacher Reference Center, and ERIC.  An iCONN Database.

ReferenceUSA – 120,000,000 nationwide residential and business telephone listings; it can also do “reverse” look-ups (when you have a phone number or address and want the name of the occupant).  Access to this database may be hampered by your computer’s browser, firewall, or security software. If you are having problems, please see the Reference USA Frequently Asked Questions.

HEALTH

Health & Wellness Resource Center  – This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative, up-to-date information on health topics.

Connect to the iCONN Databases for links to Health Information.

HISTORY

Hartford Courant – Historical 1764 to 1922 – The historical Hartford Courant covers the time period from 1764 to 1922. The digitized archive is fully searchable.

Historical New York TimesFull text of the New York Times from 1851. Not available outside of the library.

History Reference Center. An iCONN Database

HOMEWORK HELPERS

Biography Reference Bank. An iCONN Database.

Biography Reference Center. An iCONN Database.

Credo Reference – Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. This data base is a giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files.

Facts on File – Issues & Controversies – Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Facts on File – World News Digest – Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news (1940-present) from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. .

Hartford Courant – Historical 1764 to 1922 – The historical Hartford Courant covers the time period from 1764 to 1922. The digitized archive is fully searchable.

Learning Express Library – Provides interactive online practice tests and tutorial courses for academic and licensing tests. Tests include Advanced Placement, Basic Skills Success(grammar, math, comprehension), Business Writing, Civil Service (including Postal Workers), College Preparation (including SAT), Cosmetology, EMS, ESL(Spanish), Firefighter, GED, Job & Career, Military, Nurse Aide, Skills Improvement, Technical and Career College, and US Citizenship.
Note: users must sign in with user name and password. If you will also be using this database from home, please use your FPL library barcode number (no spaces, no letters) as your user name.

Masterfile Premier – Includes a colorful site for elementary school students that features EbscoAnimals, Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, and Primary Search, a database that has the full-text of over 65 children’s magazines and 300 children’s pamphlets. An iCONN Database

Middle Search Plus or Student Research Center. An iCONN Database.

Searchasaurus , Primary Search, or Kids Search. An iCONN Database.


iCONN – Connecticut Digital Library
iCONN is a statewide network of essential library and information resources. There are two ways to search iCONN. Click here to search all iCONN databases at once (except Heritage Quest) or you may search each database individually (see below). Check to see if a particular magazine, journal or newspaper is included in full-text in the iCONN databases by using “E-Journal Finder“.

LANGUAGE LEARNING

Access via mobile device
Mango Languages – Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective.

LEGAL RESOURCES

Legal Information Reference Center. An iCONN Database

 

LITERARY RESOURCES

Literary Reference Center – Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive full-text literary reference database. It contains information from over 1,000 monographs and books, reference works, encyclopedias, and literary journals.

NoveList Plus – A database of 135,000 fiction titles that allows readers to find authors similar to their favorites, to explore genres such as thriller, romance, detective-mystery, and to create lists of prize-winning books.  New! Now find audio and non-fiction as well.

WorldCat.org – Search the collections of libraries from around the U.S. and the world for books, periodicals, sound recordings, and much more.

ONLINE LEARNING & TEST PREPARATION

Learning Express Library – Three job and career course series are included in our subscription: Business Writing Skills Success, Job Search & Success Skills, and Resume & Interviewing Skills. Enter your own information in these interactive diagnostic tools to help with every step of the career process.
Provides interactive online practice tests and tutorial courses for academic and licensing tests. Tests include Advanced Placement, Basic Skills Success(grammar, math, comprehension), Business Writing, Civil Service (including Postal Workers), College Preparation (including SAT), Cosmetology, EMS, ESL(Spanish), Firefighter, GED, Job & Career, Military, Nurse Aide, Skills Improvement, Technical and Career College, and US Citizenship.
Note: users must sign in with user name and password. If you will also be using this database from home, please use your FPL library barcode number (no spaces, no letters) as your user name.

Tutor.com – The K-12 Student Center, College Center and Adult Career Center from Tutor.com includes live, one-to-one tutoring, a real-time writing center and 24/7 access to worksheets, videos and tutorials in just about any subject. A live, online tutoring and resume writing service is also available.

PERIODICALS/MAGAZINES/NEWSPAPERS

Academic Search Premier. An iCONN Database

America’s Newspapers – Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

Consumer Reports – Get product ratings from Consumer Reports world-famous test labs and sort them based on your priorities. Find out which products are best buys and worst performers.

Fairfield Citizen News – The Fairfield Citizen News provides local news from south-western Connecticut. This database provides full-text articles from 2001 to present including obituaries.

GreenFILE – offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Hartford Courant – Historical 1764 to 1922 – The historical Hartford Courant covers the time period from 1764 to 1922. The digitized archive is fully searchable.

Historical New York TimesFull text of the New York Times from 1851. Not available outside of the library.

The New York TimesEnjoy complimentary unlimited access to the world’s finest journalism on NYTimes.com while in the library.

iCONN Newspaper Collection – Full-text coverage of the Hartford Courant (1992 to present) and Hartford Courant (Historical 1764-1922). (Find articles from the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor and the Washington Post.) 

MasterFile Premier – Over 3,000 general interest current periodicals, half of which are full text. It also includes 5,000Magill’s Book Reviews, over 1,000 primary source documents in U.S. history, an image collection and a dictionary. An iCONN Database.

Connect to the iCONN Databases for Newspaper Source Plus. An iCONN Database

Connect to the iCONN Databases for Referencia Latina. An iCONN Database

Connect to the ICONN Databases for Teacher Reference Center. An iCONN Database

Zinio – Full digital copies of your favorite magazines. View them on your computer or mobile devices.


SCIENCE

Credo Reference – Credo Reference is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. This data base is a giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files.

Science Reference Center An iCONN Database.

GreenFILE - offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.